Task Group Charge

To decrease lung cancer deaths and increase survivorship by identifying policy pathways (Congress, federal and state agencies, state legislative, regulatory bodies, employer groups etc.) and address solutions and strategies with stakeholder groups in advocating for, improving, and ensuring access to high quality and affordable lung cancer screening and treatment including the full continuum of care; screening implementation, early detection, education, diagnosis, treatment, management, palliative and hospice care.


Ruth Carlos, MD, MS

Task Group Chair 

University of Michigan


Task Group Vice Chair

Task Group Members

Lori Ashby, MA
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

Paul Billings
American Lung Association

Alicia Blakey, MS
American College of Radiology

Leigh Boehmer, PharmD, BCOP
Association of Community Cancer Centers

Andrea Borondy Kitts, MS, MPH
Lahey Hospital and Medical Center

Aaron Cann, MD
WellStar Health System (GA)

Mythreyi Chatfield, PhD
American College of Radiology

Ruth Carlos, MD, MS
University of Michigan

Sarah Downer, JD
The Center for Health Law and Policy Innovation of Harvard Law School

Jane Kim, MD, MPH*
Department of Veterans Affairs

Bryan Loy, MD, MBA*

Megan Marcinko, MPS
American College of Radiology

Anita McGlothin
GO2 Foundation for Lung Cancer

Katie McMahon, MPH
American Cancer Society Cancer Action Network

Stephen Metz
Siemens Healthineers

Mary Pasquinelli, DNP, FNP-BC, APRN
UIC College of Nursing

Bruce Pyenson, FSA, MAAA

Lori Sakoda, PhD, MPH
Kaiser Permanente

Tina Tailor, MD
Duke University

(*) indicates Steering Committee member

Opportunities for Policy Modifications:

• Engage policy leaders to ensure the safe, responsible and equitable implementation of lung cancer screening and treatment opportunities along the treatment course and to bring proper health messages to those at risk
• Create collaborations and relationships with professional and advocacy societies and outreach to public and private payers to affect change at the policy level
• Reduce barriers to access and ensure high quality affordable preventive, screening and treatment services remain available to those at risk
• Ensure public health strategies are provided with sufficient funding to support the adoption and application of lung cancer preventive, screening and treatment services
• Build greater awareness about the importance of screening in the continuum of care among policy leaders
• Accelerate federal research and early detection funding for lung cancer prevention and control
• Promote coverage, education, and quality of delivery