2020 NLCRT Annual Meeting

Date: December 7-8, 2020

NLCRT Theme: Forging the New Frontier of Lung Cancer

Each year, the NLCRT membership, a nationwide coalition of over 100 professional and national societies, cancer centers, government agencies, research groups, advocacy and policy organizations, and corporate associates convenes to work together on our shared goal to create lung cancer survivors.

Not currently a member? Learn more about NLCRT membership.

Featured Speaker

Henricus J de Koning

Dept. of Public Health, Erasmus MC University Medical Center Rotterdam, the Netherlands

Henricus J de Koning is currently serving as Deputy Head and Professor of Public Health & Screening Evaluation, Department of Public Health, Erasmus MC University Medical Centre, Rotterdam, The Netherlands.

Koning scientific contributions are in the areas of (1) designing, running and evaluating (often large-scale) multidisciplinary population-based randomized controlled screening trials to establish the efficacy of screening, (2) evaluating active (inter-)national screening programs and clinical tests to establish the effectiveness and (3) guiding public health policies on screening and primary prevention using predictions of favourable and unfavourable effects and the cost of interventions, based on micro-simulation modelling of the natural history of the disease, risk-prediction modelling and cost-effectiveness and cost-utility analyses. Our multidisciplinary and international research results in recommendations on whether or not to introduce screening, surveillance or other preventive interventions for specific diseases and on policy decisions to introduce it in specific ways, either at the population level or in (high risk) patients.

Agenda

10:00am-10:10am ET/7:00am-7:10am PT

10:10am-10:15am ET/7:10am-7:15am PT

10:15am-10:45am ET/7:15am-7:45am PT

10:45am-1:00pm ET/7:45am-11:00am PT

10:45am-11:15am ET/7:45am-8:15am PT (7 minutes each + time to transition speakers)

11:15am-11:30am ET/8:15am-8:30am PT (15 minute break)

Break and Posters: 1:00pm-2:30pm ET/10:00am-11:30am PT

Task Group Showcase and Co-chairs: Topics and format of 30-minute presentations to be decided by task groups.

Structure of Task Group Meetings:

Welcome and Opening Remarks: Ella Kazerooni, MD, MS

Patient Story (TBD, prerecorded)

Keynote: Harry de Koning, MD, PhD

Appraising Lung Cancer Across the Care Continuum Rapid Fire Presentations ~ 2 hours of presentations + 15 minute break

-Lung Cancer Screening

  • USPSTF Lung Cancer Screening Guidelines Update
  • VA-PALS & GO2 Collaboration
  • COVID-19: Screening and Lung Nodule Management Guidelines
  • First Million Screens in the ACR LCS Registry

-Disparities in Lung Cancer Care

  • Addressing Disparities in Lung Cancer Screening and Access

-Tobacco Treatment

  • NCI SCALE Collaboration
  • NCI Cancer Center Cessation Initiative
  • Surgeon General Report on Smoking Cessation

-Medical and Radiation Oncology

  • Stereotactic radiotherapy, including single metastasis
  • Targeted Therapy Advancements
  • COVID-19 in Patients with Lung Cancer

-Survivorship

  • Fitness, Depression & Survivorship + COVID-19 related response

-Policy

  • Hot topics in Policy and Practice: HEDIS Measure & Telehealth Relates to Screening and Access
  • Improving Access to Biomarker Testing
  • Future of Healthcare Delivery – ??? (Trump/Biden Administration)

Break and Poster Presentations ~ 90-minutes total (15 min break, 1-hour posters, 15 min break)

  • Poster presentations in virtual breakout rooms to allow for Q&A
  • Exhibit hall with sponsors hosting zoom rooms
  • 2:30pm-3:00pm ET/11:30am-12:00pm PT:

Provider Engagement and Outreach Task Group: Tom Houston and Jan Eberth

  • 3:00pm-3:30pm ET/12:00pm-12:30pm PT:

Shared Decision-Making Task Group: Bob Volk and Peter Mazzone

  • 3:30pm-4:00pm ET/12:30pm-1:00pm PT:

Lung Cancer Screening Implementation Strategies Task Group: Charlie White and Carey Thomson

  • 4:00pm-4:30pm ET/1:00pm-1:30pm PT:

Tobacco Treatment in the Context of Lung Cancer Screening: Jamie Ostroff and Joelle Fathi

  • Schedule: 4 task group sessions on Monday afternoon/4 task group sessions on Tuesday afternoon session. 30 minutes for each session led by co-chairs (20 minute presentations/10 minute Q/A). Sessions scheduled sequentially during the 2 hour showcase.
  • Attendees: co-chairs, task group members, invited guests/presenters, annual meeting attendees who’d like to learn more about the task group (i.e., task group charge, members, participating organizations, projects, collaborations, etc.)
  • Topics: task group strategic plan, manuscripts, task group priorities, current work, future direction, evidence update, special topic presentation/discussion, patient presentation, efforts to address disparities.
  • Planning: onus on task group co-chairs to plan these sessions. These are not working sessions.
    • Goal is to showcase task group work and experts, and even solicit ideas from the audience. Show cross-collaboration among task groups. Pull a few themes out of strategic plan and explore further (i.e., guest speaker, mini presentations by task group members, etc.).

Closing Remarks/Plenary

10:00am-10:05am ET/7:00-7:05am PT

10:05am-10:35am ET/7:05am-7:35am PT

10:35am-1:00pm ET/7:35am-10:00am PT

10:35am-1:00pm ET/7:35am-10:00am PT

Break and Posters: 1:00pm-2:30pm ET/10:00am-11:30am PT

Task Group Showcase and Co-chairs: Topics and format of 30-minute presentations to be decided by task groups.

Structure of Task Group Meetings:

Welcome Back: Doug Wood, MD

NLCRT Leadership Awards: Introductions of the awards and recipients

NLCRT Plenary Session ~ 2.5 hours

Plenary Session/NLCRT Principal Investigator and Chairs

  • NLCRT Strategic Plan/Priority Initiatives – Robert Smith, Ph.D., ACS (10 minutes)
  • Priority Initiatives led by Task Groups: (50 minutes +25 minutes Q+A = 75 minutes total)
    • Eliminating Lung Cancer Stigma – A National Initiative (Survivorship, Stigma, and Nihilism TG) (25 minutes +12 min Q+A)
      • Summit and Initiative Update
      • Directions/Deliverables
      • Patient Remarks
    • Optimizing Lung Cancer Biomarkers in Practice – A National Initiative (Triage for Appropriate Treatment TG) (25 minutes + 12 min Q+A)
      • Summit and Initiative Update
      • ASCO Survey of Oncologists
      • Patient Remarks
  • Special Topics led by Task Groups: (40 minutes + 25 min Q+A = 65 minutes total)
    • State Coalition Building Guide and Geospatial Mapping (10 minutes)
    • NLCRT LCS/Nodule Management Business Plan (electronic business pro forma for those who are not business-based can have this ROI conversation with their administrators. foundational element to build a business case) (10 minutes)
    • AAFP/SDM (Survey/Materials) (10 minutes)
    • ACS Report from the Field/Biomarker Testing ECHO (10 minutes)

Break and Poster Presentations ~ 90-minutes total (15 min break, 1-hour posters, 15 min break)

  • Poster presentations in virtual breakout rooms to allow for Q&A
  • Exhibit hall with sponsors hosting zoom rooms
  • 2:30pm-3:00pm ET/11:30am-12:00pm PT:

Lung Cancer in Women: Leah Backhus and Patricia Rivera

  • 3:00pm-3:30pm ET/12:00pm-12:30pm PT:

State-Based Initiatives: Tim Mullett and Jessica Olson

  • 3:30pm-4:00pm ET/12:30pm-1:00pm PT:

Advanced Imaging: Dan Sullivan and Mike McNitt-Gray

  • 4:00pm-4:30pm ET/1:00pm-1:30pm PT:

Policy Action Task Group: Ruth Carlos

  • Schedule: 4 task group sessions on Monday afternoon/4 task group sessions on Tuesday afternoon session. 30 minutes for each session led by co-chairs (20 minute presentations/10 minute Q/A). Sessions scheduled sequentially during the 2 hour showcase.
  • Attendees: co-chairs, task group members, invited guests/presenters, annual meeting attendees who’d like to learn more about the task group (i.e., task group charge, members, participating organizations, projects, collaborations, etc.)
  • Topics: task group strategic plan, manuscripts, task group priorities, current work, future direction, evidence update, special topic presentation/discussion, patient presentation, efforts to address disparities.
  • Planning: onus on task group co-chairs to plan these sessions. These are not working sessions.
    • Goal is to showcase task group work and experts, and even solicit ideas from the audience. Show cross-collaboration among task groups. Pull a few themes out of strategic plan and explore further (i.e., guest speaker, mini presentations by task group members, etc.).